MRP & Organization

I haven’t been posting ANY AEDs for the last week but I’ve actually been working on it still! I haven’t found the time to take pictures and post them up, but I’ll work on that.

I have been, however, working on my Major Research Paper (MRP) as part of my completion towards my Masters of Digital Media at Ryerson University. This is a 1 year program which culminates in a research paper/project/product at the end of August. It’s been a pretty crazy and hectic time, but I thought I should update on how this is going as a way to keep myself on track, but I thought it might be interesting to see how everything comes together at the end (which it will)!

In case you don’t know, I’m insanely organized when it comes to working on big projects – I need have outlines, planned out what papers I’m reading and when, when I’m writing what sections, even down to when I’m proofreading. SO, here is my (super organized and nerdy) Gantt chart for the next few months.

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 8.40.09 PM.png

The first half is the papers, websites, and articles I’m planning on reading, and then the final stretch is obviously all of the writing bits. I’ve tried my best to plan out time for the parts that will need more time to write and stacked up pieces that are easier to get through. I did my best to do as much of the reading as I can upfront, although I’m sure as I’m writing, I’ll need to be searching for more articles and reading more in order to support what I’m writing.

The random three squares that are in the middle of the chart that isn’t completed until towards the end of the timeline is the Table of Contents, Abstract, and Acknowledgements. 🙂

Working on my thesis is a piece by piece process – for such a huge project, it’s unfathomable for me to try to think about the project as a whole so what works for me is to list all of the biggest steps first – “Administration, Reading, Writing, Editing”, and then breaking them down into smaller steps, and then further in to tinier bits. Once I’ve broken it down into smaller parts is when I can finally start “assigning” myself dates and working towards working onto it.

This upcoming week includes more reading (I’ve read 3 articles this week already!), but more importantly, working towards my Ethics Approval for my thesis…

What do you think?

