Vegetarian Grocery Haul!

Since there’s a snow storm in my area tonight and I didn’t ride my bike to work, it’s obviously the perfect night to do a grocery haul seeing as I’m all out of almost everything. I’m being sarcastic, it was horrible and everything was very heavy and snow was blowing everywhere, but I made it!

IMG_2022

I haven’t done a big haul of groceries in a long time because I usually keep a pretty good stock in my kitchen, however, after meal prep this week I ran out of egg whites, yogurt, cheese, oatmeal, tomatoes, and broccoli. As you can tell from the title, this IS a vegetarian grocery haul – I’ve been eating almost completely vegetarian (ovo-lacto meaning I still eat dairy and eggs) for just about a month now! (The almost is for the very rare once or twice a month times I eat meat!)

Vegetables & Fruit

  • Cucumber (eating with hummus & salads)
  • Bananas (parfaits)
  • 2 containers of strawberries which you can’t see (parfaits)
  • Tomatoes (burrito salad)
  • Avocado (burrito salad)
  • Red pepper (burrito salad)
  • Broccoli

Proteins

  • Yves vegetarian falafel balls
  • Yves vegetarian kale & quinoa bites
  • Tofu
  • Great Northern Beans
  • Pinto Beans (I’m not sure what I’m actually doing with either types of beans yet…)

Dairy

  • 2 cartons of egg whites (I eat this almost everyday)
  • 2 750ml yogurt (I really like yogurt)
  • Silani light feta cheese

Other

  • Vector Protein Granola (parfait)
  • Quick oats (for baking only! I like to eat steel cut oats for oatmeal.)
  • Couscous (burrito salad)

Things that I already have in my fridge/pantry that I did not need to buy:

  • Eggs (I have 2 full cartons AND half a carton of boiled eggs…)
  • Peanut Butter
  • Almond Milk
  • Cauliflower
  • Onion
  • Regular Cheddar cheese\

I’m a creature of habit, all these items are pretty much in my kitchen at all times, and I eat very similar food week to week. You’ll see all of these ingredients in my upcoming meal preps. In addition, my wonderful mother got me the matching Kitchenaid food processor, so you can expect lots of great things from that coming soon!

IMG_2030

Posts still to come: Strawberry pie, vegetarian burgers, and black bean brownies!

What do you think?

