IIFYM Part 2 – a full day of eating

Important Note: These macros and calorie goals are based on MY personal body and feelings. It works for me, so figure out what works for you! 🙂

If you haven’t read my previous post on what IIFYM is, you can check it out here!

Planning my macros, or also known as food tetris! As mentioned in the previous post, my macros look like the following:

  • Total calories/day: 1700
  • Carbs: 200g
  • Fat: 60g
  • Protein: 90g

I usually cook and plan breakfast and lunch the night before, and then decide what I want to eat for dinner after lunch time, but if I have leftovers, or if I already know what I want to eat for dinner then I’ll do the all at once. To make things easier, I have a couple of key “core meals” that have been saved as favorites in MyFitnessPal.

Breakfast Snacks Dinner
A “Starbucks protein box” Peanut butter cheerios Protein pancakes
MyOatmeal oatmeal Beef Jerky Chicken with sweet potato
Egg white sandwich with cheese  Small coffee – 1 milk, 1 sugar  Protein shake

Because I’m prepping for a gym day in this post, it’s a little different from my usual day in terms of the number of meals and snacks I’m eating, but all the key concepts are there.

The night before, I’ll prep my usual Starbucks protein box. This contains apple slices, grapes, a hard boiled egg, cheese, and bread.

proteinbox.jpg Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 9.37.10 AM.png

This particular day I didn’t have much time to cook a fresh dinner/lunch, but I did have leftover shepherd’s pie that I had made a few weeks ago and froze, so that’s what I decided to bring for lunch today (Note: I added my own Shepherd’s Pie recipe into MFP, which is what you’re seeing there, not some generic shepherd’s pie found on MFP!). I always make a point to bring dessert to work. I bought a box of Decadent Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies earlier this week, so I packed one of those as my dessert.

lunch

My favourite workplace snack is peanut butter cheerios (have literally eaten them every single day at work for the last 3 months), so I’ve measured those out as well.

I like training on an empty stomach, so I’ll throw in an extra snack before the gym that I’ll eat around 3pm – today it’s cucumber and humus (which I forgot to take a photo of!). In the morning on the bus ride, I’ll decide if I want to go for a coffee before the gym for a caffeine boost. So once all of my lunch and snacks are added up it looks something like this:

snack

lunch.jpg

At this point, my daily total looks like this. Most of the time, this is when I stick whatever I made into the fridge, and head to bed. I almost always plan dinner the day of because it really depends on what I feeling like eating that day.

Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 9.53.37 AM.png

I generally try to leave around 600-700 calories for dinner to give myself more flexibility at night, but the additional coffee plus that 90cal cookie knocked off 160 calories from the daily total.

Dinner is the most hectic meal to figure out because I’m trying to finish filling up my macros, while actually fitting in something I really want to eat. I haven’t had a deconstructed egg white sandwich in a while, plus I still have quite a bit of protein to eat today (and I’m not feeling particularly protein shake-y tonight), so that’s on the menu.

dinner

IMG_20160119_203220

Normally I make the sandwiches with just half a cup of egg whites, but when I added everything up, I was still short on protein, so it’s going to be a really egg-whitey sandwich today. You also may notice that it’s only half a bagel. Bagels are particularly carb-y, but I’m willing to just eat half if it means I get to eat bagels. 🙂

Also, dessert. I picked up some Ryvita bran crackers (thanks Jeremy!) the other day and really want to try them tonight, so PB+Jam it is!

dessert2

AND THAT’S IT! A whole day of macros. After dinner, the cycle starts all over again: I make up my breakfast and lunch for the next day before heading to bed.

The end of day totals:

Capture

I aim for +/- 5g for fats and protein, but because my carbs are so high already, if I’m under carbs, I’ll just leave them unless I’m feeling particularly hungry that night. As you probably could tell by the casual tone of this post, I eat depending on how I feel like that day. If I want to eat a bagel, I’ll generally figure out a way to fit it in, or if I’m really craving pancakes, I’ll figure that in somehow. As mentioned previously, the main reason I eat IIFYM is because it allows me to eat what I want while still working towards my goals, so pancakes, french toast, cookies, and peanut butter, here I come!

I will be doing one final post on IIFYM, except it’ll be on a day when I know I’ll be going out to eat, just so you can have an idea of how much crazier it can be.

As always, these macros and calorie goals are based on MY personal body and feelings. Most people don’t have such a high carb intake and instead have a higher protein intake. I have fiddled with my macros for a couple months before I got to these numbers. Even if you’re my height and weight, our macros can be incredibly, incredibly different depending on a million factors. Figure out what works for your body! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “IIFYM Part 2 – a full day of eating

What do you think?

