Apple and Oat Scones

IMG_1015

Seeing as the massive bag of apples are still sitting in my place, I thought I would bake with them again. This time I baked another Martha Stewart recipe: Apple and oat scones with cinnamon and nutmeg, yum. Increased the cinnamon and nutmeg, as well as the apple content, as always. I enjoy my bakery goods with more fillings than dough.

Ingredients

  • 1 23 cups flour
  • 13 cups rolled oats
  • 14 cup + 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 34 baking soda
  • 12 teaspoon salt
  • 34 cup butter
  • 2 cups of apples
  • 23 cups buttermilk

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Whisk together all dry ingredients. Cut in butter with a pastry blender.
  3. Add the apples and buttermilk, and mix.
  4. Flour surface and roll out dough into rectangles. Using a cookie cutter, cut shapes into the flattened dough.
  5. Brush the tops with extra buttermilk and sprinkle with sugar and oats.
  6. Bake for about 15 minutes, and let cool.
  7. Serve with maple syrup and peanut butter, or clotted cream and jam!

IMG_0978

IMG_0997

IMG_1006

3 thoughts on “Apple and Oat Scones

  1. Oooh these look beautiful! I’ve only ever made apple scones from a mix, but these ones from scratch look ten times better. I will have to give these a try. Lovely photos 🙂
    BTW, I just discovered your blog and absolutely love it. Thank you for sharing such awesome recipes – I can’t wait to try them out!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

