Why Do I Exercise?

There are lots of good reasons to exercise, but mine are mostly superficial, but also awesome.

Right now, I follow bastardized version of Mehdi’s StrongLifts 5×5, as well as stretch and do pushups (if I’m not too sleepy) in the morning. I try to get in a run once a week as well, but that rarely happens nowadays. StrongLifts consists of rotating between 2 sets of exercises every other day: Workout A: Squats, Benchpress, and Overhead press or Workout B: Squats, Rows, Deadlift. The bastardized version of it is the fact that I generally skip the overhead press and the rows. I just don’t feel confident enough in doing them without hurting myself, and I’m usually pretty tired from pushing really hard on the squats or my nemesis, the bench press.

So, why do I push myself and why do I exercise? Like I said, my reasons are mostly superficial.

  1. To eat all the carbs and delicious foods I want.
    I have an unhealthy obsession with carbs (bread, pasta, potatoes, gnocchi, quinoa, you name it, I love it). Exercising gives me that excuse, ‘Well 1 more slice of bread won’t hurt after you already ate 2 slices… it’s only bread… plus you exercised today!’ In addition, how else would I be able to drink alcohol and eat sushi and burgers and french toast. This is honestly a huge reason why I exercise –  you get to eat delicious food, guilt free. As the Oatmeal puts it in one of my all-time-favorite comics ever, “They say you should you treat your body like a temple. I treat mine like a fast-moving dumpster.”
  2. It feels good (sometimes).
    Sure, sometimes it actually feels pretty good to exercise. The rush of lifting up something heavy and putting it back down, or the DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness) the next day can be pretty rewarding in it’s I-hate-my-body sort of way.
  3. To look hot.
    Very, very rarely do people exercise just because it feels good – it’s to look hot. You know, to attract a mate. Don’t even, I know that’s a large reason why you exercise. 😉
  4. Bragging rights!
    Of course it’s fun to say you exercise when other people don’t. You can make other people feel bad! And then when they mention that they’re eating a lot of carbs or fast food, you can puff up your chest, flex your muscles and say, “Well, it’s a good thing I exercised today.”
  5. To wear awesome neon coloured clothing.
    Neon green tank tops, highlighter pink tops. Orange zippers, pastel blue shorts, bright blue sports bras, I have too much neon coloured exercise clothing, but it’s so goddamn fun to wear.
  6. To get strong and healthy.
    (But really, you know it’s mostly for those other reasons… this one is just on the list to appease everyone who does it for this.)

So those are my superficial reasons that I exercise. Why do you exercise??

What do you think?

